---
title: Inviting and removing users
summary: null
url: >-
  https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/inviting-and-removing-users
---

Fastly lets superusers invite new users to a company account and remove users who no longer need access. This guide covers how to send, resend, and cancel invitations, and how to delete users from your account.

## Before you begin

Before you begin managing user lifecycle actions, keep in mind the following:

- **Adding users to Signal Sciences accounts only.** If you only have a Signal Sciences account, not a Fastly account, follow the instructions in our guide to [managing Next-Gen WAF users](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/next-gen-waf/account-info/managing-users).
- **Use Okta when user management is automated.** If you [automate user management](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/automating-user-management-for-accounts) with Okta, we strongly recommend user management happen in the Okta application, not in the Fastly control panel. Updates in the Okta application will be automatically reflected in the Fastly control panel, but the reverse is not true.
- **Some roles cannot be combined.** The Superuser role cannot be combined with any other role except a [Security (Next-Gen WAF) role](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#security-next-gen-waf-roles) because it already has full access to everything. For other roles, you'll only see roles that can be combined with your current selections when assigning them. Review our guide on user [roles and permissions](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions) for details.

## Inviting a user to an account

To invite a user to an account:

1.   Log in to the [Fastly control panel](https://manage.fastly.com).

2.   Go to **Account** > [**User management**](https://manage.fastly.com/account/users).

3. In the **User invitations** area, click **Invite a user**.
4. In the **Email address** field, enter the email address of the user to invite.
5. From the **Add a role** menu, select a [role to assign the user](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#user-roles-and-what-they-can-do).
6. _(Optional)_ From the **Add another role** menu, select additional roles for this user. You'll only see roles that can be combined with the roles already selected. Keep in mind that adding the Superuser role to existing roles is redundant. You should remove other roles first if assigning the Superuser role.
7. _(Optional)_ Depending on the roles you've selected for this user, [limit access to selected services](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#service-access-permissions) by doing the following:
   - From the menu in the **Services** area, select **Limit access to specific services**. A list of services associated with your account appears.
   - To the right of each service, select the specific [permission level](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#service-access-permissions) this user should have. Leave the permissions blank to keep specific services hidden.
8. _(Optional)_ Depending on the roles you've selected for this user, [limit access to selected workspaces](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#workspace-access-permissions) by doing the following:
   - From the menu in the **Workspaces** area, select **Limit access to specific workspaces**. A list of workspaces associated with your account appears.
   - To the left of each workspace, click the **Off** switch to the **On** position to allow access to this workspace.
9. Click **Invite** to send an invitation to the email you specified. The email address of the user you invited appears in the Pending user invitations area and remains there until the invitation is accepted or seven calendar days have passed.

> **HINT:** Use the search box to search for a specific service or workspace. Click **Grant access to all** or **Revoke access to all** to enable or disable access to all services or workspaces at once.

## Resending an invitation

To resend a pending invitation before it has been accepted or expired:

1.   Log in to the [Fastly control panel](https://manage.fastly.com).

2.   Go to **Account** > [**User management**](https://manage.fastly.com/account/users).

3. In the **Pending user invitations** area, find the email address associated with the original invitation.
4. From the **Options** menu, select **Resend email**.

## Deleting an invitation

To delete an account invitation before it has been accepted or expired:

1.   Log in to the [Fastly control panel](https://manage.fastly.com).

2.   Go to **Account** > [**User management**](https://manage.fastly.com/account/users).

3. In the **Pending user invitations** area, find the email address associated with the original invitation.
4. From the **Options** menu, select **Delete invitation**.

## Deleting a user

> **IMPORTANT:** Deleting the owner of the account or the primary contact? Be sure to [transfer ownership](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions#account-ownership) first or designate a new primary contact before deleting them.

To delete a user from an account:

1.   Log in to the [Fastly control panel](https://manage.fastly.com).

2.   Go to **Account** > [**User management**](https://manage.fastly.com/account/users).

3. In the **Active users** area, find the name or email of the user to delete.

4. Click the **Options** menu to the right of the user to be deleted, then select **Delete user** from the menu that appears. A confirmation window appears.

5. If the user has active API tokens associated with their account, click **Review this user's API tokens** to manually review and revoke them. Alternatively, select the checkbox to automatically revoke all of the user's API tokens and delete the user.

   > **WARNING:** Deleting an API token will break any integration actively using that credential. Review our guide on [managing personal API tokens](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/personal-user-profiles/managing-your-personal-api-tokens) and verify you've changed the API token for your integrations before proceeding.

6. Click **Confirm and delete**.

## Related content

- [Configuring user roles and access for existing users](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/configuring-user-roles-and-access-for-existing-users)
- [About user roles and permissions](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/guides/organizations-and-accounts/account-members-and-permissions/about-user-roles-and-permissions)
- [User API documentation](https://www.fastly.com/documentation/reference/api/account/user/)
