Überblick

Lieblingsfunktionen

  • Instant Purge

  • Individuelles VCL

  • Origin Shield

  • Streaming Logs

Warum Fastly

  • Streaming Logs
  • Open Source
  • Sofortige Updates
Drupal Screenshot

Über Drupal

===========

Drupal ist ein Open-Source-Tool, das Millionen von Websites und Anwendungen unterstützt, indem es Nutzer in die Lage versetzt, Inhalte hochzuladen und zu verwalten. Über eine Million Nutzer weltweit arbeiten auf Drupal.org, einer Website, die von der Drupal Association finanziert und verwaltet wird. Die Drupal Association ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation mit Sitz in Portland, Oregon, die das Drupal Softwareprojekt, die Community und deren Wachstum fördert und unterstützt. Die Association wird sowohl von Einzelpersonen als auch von Organisationen unterstützt und nutzt ihre Ressourcen, ihr Netzwerk und ihre Mittel, um Menschen über Drupal zu informieren und das Wachstum des Drupal Projekts zu fördern.

Warum Fastly

Drupal Liefert Content-Management-Lösungen für 12,2 % der 100.000 weltweit führenden Websites – darunter whitehouse.gov, Weather.com, Pinterest, NBCUniversal, Tesla, Pfizer, MLS, NBA, die GRAMMYs, die Emmys und Harvard. Die Drupal Association ist die zentrale und verlässliche Quelle für Neuigkeiten, Add-ons, Entwicklung und sämtliche Updates rund um Drupal. Wie die meisten Websites, die auf Drupal basieren, verwendet die Drupal Association den Open Source Web Accelerator Varnish, um seine Websites und Services zu cachen und zu beschleunigen.

Drupal.org hostet die Download- (https://ftp.drupal.org) und Update-Services für die Bereitstellung wichtiger Drupal Pakete, Themen und Module zur Erweiterung der Kernfunktionen von Drupal.

„Dank Fastly konnten wir Traffic-Volumina stemmen, die zuvor eine große Herausforderung darstellten. Die Gespräche mit Fastly und die Informationen über das Open Source Alliance Program haben uns davon überzeugt, mit einem Open-Source-freundlichen Content-Distributionsnetzwerk zu arbeiten, das Software verwendet, mit der wir vertraut sind. Fastly versteht die Bedürfnisse eines Open-Source-Projekts.“ Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

„Fastly passt perfekt zu einer Organisation wie der Drupal Association: Es ist Open-Source-freundlich, basiert auf Varnish und bietet ein hervorragendes Distributionsnetzwerk mit zahlreichen verteilten POPs. Bei unserer globalen Community brauchen wir schnelle, globale Reichweite, und Services wie Fastly machen das möglich.“ Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Als wichtiger Teil der Infrastruktur von Millionen von Websites suchte die Drupal Association nach einem CDN, das es ihr ermöglicht, ihre Infrastruktur ihrem Wachstum anzupassen, die robusten Funktionen der Plattform (einschließlich schnellerer Downloads, Updates und neuester Nachrichten) auf die gesamte Community auszuweiten und unvorhersehbare Traffic-Spitzen zu bewältigen, ohne die Origin-Server zu überlasten. Die Drupal Association wandte sich an Fastly , um die gesamte Infrastruktur und das Caching von Assets auf den Download- und Updates-Services auszulagern sowie Drupal.org auszuliefern. Da Fastly auf Varnish basiert, konnte Drupal seine vorhandene Anwendungslogik einfach bis auf die Edge ausweiten und näher zu den globalen Nutzern bringen, um schnellere Erlebnisse für die Drupal Community schaffen. Fastlys Origin Shield ermöglicht Drupal.org eine risikofreie Skalierung, indem es Traffic-Spitzen absorbiert und gleichzeitig für hohe Verfügbarkeit und schnelle, globale Cache-Konsistenz sorgt, um sofortige Updates und Echtzeit-Releases zu unterstützen.

Drupal Screenshot 2

Bessere Performance für Drupal.org

Drupal Nutzer auf der ganzen Welt wünschen sich schnelle, zuverlässige Seitenladezeiten – laut Kissmetrics erwarten 47 % der Nutzer, dass Websites in zwei Sekunden oder weniger geladen werden.Dies ist besonders wichtig für Drupal.org, wo die Community nach den neuesten Nachrichten und Updates sucht. In weniger als zwei Wochen migrierte Drupal seine Plattform für die Kerninhalte von www.drupal.org sowie die Websites für die Drupal API, Übersetzungen und weltweite Events (DrupalCons) zu Fastly, was eine Verringerung der Seitenladezeit um 33 % zur Folge hatte.

„Drupal.org lädt jetzt knapp eine Sekunde schneller als vorher. Auf einigen Seiten wie der Startseite von Drupal.org konnten wir die Ladezeit von 2,16 Sekunden auf 1,42 Sekunden verkürzen. Unsere Cache-Hitrate stieg ebenfalls von 70 % auf über 90 %. Damit schneiden auch unsere Origin-Server viel besser ab, wenn es um die Bewältigung von Traffic geht. Das bedeutet wiederum eine drastische und einschneidende Verbesserung für unsere Nutzer.“ Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Die Power von Varnish und sofortigen Änderungen über VCL

Fastly verwendet eine stark angepasste Version von Varnish, die es der Drupal Association ermöglicht, ihren eigenen individuellen Code in der Varnish Configuration Language (VCL) zu schreiben und bereitzustellen, und ultimative Flexibilität beim Cachen und Aktualisieren von Inhalten bietet.

„Der spezifische VCL-Code liefert uns jede Menge Features, die es uns ermöglichen, die Seitenladezeiten erheblich zu beschleunigen. Mit Fastly können wir deutlich mehr Inhalte cachen als mit unserem vorherigen (und nicht besonders leistungsstarken) Anbieter.“ Joshua Mitchell, CTO

„Die Möglichkeit, Konfigurationsänderungen schnell zu testen und bereitzustellen, bietet enorme Vorteile. Bei dringenden Änderungen dauerte es bei unserem vorherigen Anbieter bis zu vier Stunden, bis diese Änderungen live gingen. Mit Fastly dauert das nur wenige Sekunden.“ Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

Die Tatsache, dass Fastly auf Varnish basiert, machte es für Drupal einfach, seine Inhalte und bestehenden Konfigurationen näher zu seinen Nutzern zu bringen – und damit ein schnelleres Erlebnis zu schaffen, als es mit Varnish allein möglich wäre. Mit dem individuellen VCL von Fastly kann Drupal seine globale Reichweite ausbauen und gleichzeitig seine Origin-Server vor Traffic-Spitzen schützen, was weltweit für ein besseres Nutzererlebnis sorgt.

Origin Shield Icon

Origin Shielding und Skalierung für globales Wachstum

Bevor Drupal.org zu Fastly wechselte, wurden die Origin-Server des Open-Source-Projekts mit riesigen Mengen an Traffic überflutet. Fastlys Origin Shield schützt Drupal.org vor Traffic-Spitzen und hilft bei der Minimierung der Bandbreitennutzung für besonders gefragte Services wie Updates. Wenn Drupal eine Aktualisierung vornimmt, während 15.000 Anfragen gleichzeitig eingehen, ist darauf Verlass, dass seine Origin-Server geschützt sind.

„Origin Shield ist äußerst hilfreich. Updates sind unsere größten Bandbreitenverbraucher, und jetzt haben wir eine Hitrate von 99 % für unseren Update-Traffic, was uns eine Menge Infrastrukturkosten spart.“ Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Durch die geringere Belastung seiner Origin-Server konnte Drupal Betriebskosten einsparen und so den Weg für globales Wachstum ebnen.

„Durch die erhebliche Entlastung unseres Origin-Servers konnten wir intern eine Menge Netzwerkressourcen freisetzen. Außerdem unterstützt uns die bessere Bandbreitenverteilung bei der globalen Ausweitung von Drupal und der Bereitstellung eines besseren Nutzererlebnisses.“ Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

Sofortige Updates und Echtzeit-Releases

„Die Geschwindigkeit, mit der wir Daten ausliefern, ist entscheidend für das Nutzererlebnis – nicht nur in puncto Sicherheit, sondern auch bei der schnelleren Bereitstellung von Downloads für Nutzer auf der ganzen Welt. Dank Fastly können wir Releases bereitstellen, sobald sie verfügbar sind. Das ist besonders für die Sicherheit von Vorteil, denn wir können Sicherheitsreleases innerhalb von Sekunden für alle verfügbar machen, sobald wir sie gepackt haben.“ Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Schnelle Innovationen sind entscheidend: Millionen von führenden modernen Unternehmen verlassen sich täglich auf Drupal. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass neue Releases schnell und zuverlässig bereitgestellt werden können. Dies ist sowohl im Hinblick auf das Nutzererlebnis als auch in puncto Sicherheit unerlässlich, denn wichtige Sicherheitsupdates muss Drupal.org den Nutzern sofort zur Verfügung stellen.

Beim vorherigen Anbieter dauerten Updates neuer Projekte, Module und anderer Drupal-bezogener Inhalte oft 45 Minuten oder länger. Mit Fastly kann Drupal.org Inhalte innerhalb von 150 Millisekunden aktualisieren. Mit der Gewissheit, dass Updates sofort bereitgestellt werden können, kann die Organisation Inhalte länger cachen (und die Anzahl der Anfragen an ihre Origin-Server minimieren).

„Bei unserem vorherigen Anbieter gab es kein Instant Purge – wir mussten oft fast eine Stunde warten, bis Updates verfügbar waren. Bei Fastly haben wir die Ablaufzeiten für den Cache mit 365 Tagen sehr hoch angesetzt, aber wenn ein Update kommt, können wir es sofort bereitstellen.“ Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

Streaming Logs für Prüfungen in Echtzeit

Die Drupal Association hat die Streaming Logs von Fastly mit einem zentralen Log Server verbunden und kann so Nutzerdaten aggregieren, um wichtige Informationen zu erhalten. Neben dem Log Streaming an den syslog Endpoint sendet die Drupal Association eine Kopie ihrer Logs direkt von Fastly an S3-Buckets. Drupal verwendet diese Logs, um Nutzungsstatistiken für Projekte auf Drupal.org zu erstellen. Da die Organisation an mehreren Standorten tätig ist, an die es die Logs senden kann, kann sie so zuverlässigere Statistiken erstellen.

„Die Streaming Logs von Fastly sind extrem nützlich. Wir verwenden sie zum Aggregieren der Nutzungsstatistiken der Projekte auf Drupal.org und um zu nachzuverfolgen, wie viele Websites ein Drupal Modul oder Thema aktiviert haben.“ Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

You appear to be offline. Some site functionality may not work.
Sign Up
  • Overview

  • Favorite Features

    • Instant Purge
    • Custom VCL
    • Origin Shield
    • Streaming logs
  • Why Fastly

    • Streaming logs
    • Open source
    • Instant updates
Drupal screenshot

About Drupal

Drupal is an open source tool that powers millions of websites and applications by allowing users to upload and manage content. Over one million global users work on Drupal.org, which is funded and maintained by the Drupal Association. The Drupal Association is a non-profit organization based in Portland, Oregon that fosters and supports the Drupal software project, the community and its growth. Supported by both individual members and organizations, the Association uses its resources, network, and funds to educate people about Drupal and support the growth of the Drupal project.

Why Fastly

Drupal powers content management for 12.2% of the top 100,000 websites worldwide — including whitehouse.gov, Weather.com, Pinterest, NBCUniversal, Tesla, Pfizer, MLS, NBA, the GRAMMYs, the Emmys, and Harvard. The Drupal Association is the central and authoritative source for news, addons, development, and updates on all things Drupal. Like most Drupal-powered sites, the Drupal Association uses Varnish, the open source web accelerator, to cache and accelerate their sites and services.

Drupal.org hosts the Download (https://ftp.drupal.org) and Updates services that provide essential Drupal packages, themes, and modules to extend the look and feel of Drupal’s core features.

“Fastly helped us deal with some pretty challenging traffic levels. Speaking with them and learning about the open source alliance program sold us on working with an open source-friendly content distribution network that uses software we’re familiar with. Fastly understands the needs of an open source project.” Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

“Fastly is a perfect fit for an organization like the Drupal Association: it’s open source-friendly, built on Varnish, and offers a great distribution network with a great set of distributed POPs. Because we have a global community, we need to have a fast global reach, and services like Fastly make that doable.” Joshua Mitchell, CTO

As a crucial part of the infrastructure for millions of sites, the Drupal Association looked for a CDN that would enable them to scale their infrastructure as Drupal grows, extend the robust features of their platform (including faster downloads, updates, and the latest news) to their community as a whole, and support unpredictable spikes without overloading their origins. The Drupal Association turned to Fastly to serve Drupal.org’s entire infrastructure, caching assets on both their Download and Updates services as well as Drupal.org. Because Fastly is based on Varnish, Drupal could easily extend their existing application logic to the network edge — closer to their global user base — creating faster experiences for their community. Fastly’s Origin Shield enables Drupal.org to scale without risk by absorbing traffic spikes and maintaining high-availability and fast, global cache-consistency to support instant updates and real-time releases.

Drupal screenshot 2

Improving performance for Drupal.org

Fast, reliable page loads are important for Drupal users around the world — according to Kissmetrics, 47% of users expect a website to load in two seconds or less. This is especially critical with respect to Drupal.org, where their community goes to find the latest news and updates. Drupal migrated their core content platform at www.drupal.org as well as sites for the Drupal API, translations, and worldwide events (DrupalCons) to Fastly in less than two weeks, after which they saw a 33% decrease in page load time.

“Drupal.org now loads about a second faster than it did before Fastly. On some pages, like the Drupal.org homepage, we went from 2.16 seconds to 1.42 seconds. Our cache hit also went up, from a 70% hit ratio to over 90%, which means that our origin servers were also performing much better considering the amount of traffic we handle. That’s a dramatic and impactful improvement for our users.” Joshua Mitchell, CTO

The power of Varnish & instant VCL changes

Fastly uses a highly customized version of Varnish, allowing the Drupal Association to write and deploy their own Custom Varnish Configuration Language (VCL). This gives them ultimate flexibility when caching and updating their content.

“A lot of features within the Custom VCL let us speed up page load times significantly. The caching we can do with Fastly is a lot more powerful than our previous (and very vanilla) provider.” Joshua Mitchell, CTO

“The ability to quickly test and deploy configuration changes has been a big improvement. If we need to make a critical change, our previous provider could take up to four hours to go live. With Fastly, the changes are live in a matter of seconds.” Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

The fact that Fastly is built on Varnish made it easy for Drupal to push their content and existing configurations closer to their users — creating a faster experience than they could with Varnish alone. With Fastly’s Custom VCL, Drupal can extend their global reach while protecting their origins against spikes in traffic, improving experiences for users across the world.

Origin Shield icon

Origin Shielding and scaling for global growth

Before Drupal.org moved to Fastly, they had massive amounts of traffic hitting their origins. Fastly’s Origin Shield protects against spikes in traffic and helps Drupal.org minimize bandwidth use on their high-demand services, such as Updates. If they make an update while 15,000 requests are coming in simultaneously, they can rest assured that their origins are protected.

“Origin Shield has been extremely helpful. Updates are our biggest use of bandwidth, and now we have a 99% hit ratio for our updates traffic, so that’s saved us a ton on infrastructure costs.” Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Decreasing the load on their origins has allowed Drupal to save on operational costs, paving the way for global growth.

“Being able to push the majority of bandwidth off of our origin has freed up a lot of networking resources internally. It also helps with our bigger vision of extending Drupal around the world, offering a better experience for everyone.” Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

Instant updates and real-time releases

“The speed at which we push data out is critical to the user experience — not only in terms of security, but also for making downloads available more quickly, for everyone. Fastly gives us a faster rollout for releases — as soon as a release hits we can make it live for download. This is especially great from the security side; we can make a security release available to everyone within seconds of it being packaged.” Joshua Mitchell, CTO

Speed of innovation is crucial: millions of modern, leading companies rely on Drupal every day, so it’s important that they’re able to make new releases available quickly and reliably. This is crucial from both a user experience and security standpoint— in the event of an important security update, Drupal.org needs to make it available to users immediately.

With their previous provider, updates to new projects, modules, and other Drupal-related content often took 45 minutes or more. Because Fastly enables Drupal.org to update content in 150 milliseconds, they can cache content for longer (thereby reducing requests to their origins), knowing they can update it instantly when necessary.

“We didn’t have Instant Purge with our previous provider — we would often have to wait almost an hour for updates to go through. With Fastly, our cache expiration times are set really high — 365 days — but when an update comes through we can make it available immediately.” Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager

Streaming logs for real-time review

The Drupal Association has hooked up Fastly’s streaming logs to a centralized log server, enabling them to aggregate user data to keep track of vital information. In addition to streaming logs to their syslog endpoint, the Drupal Association sends a copy of their logs directly from Fastly to S3 buckets. They use these logs to generate project usage statistics on Drupal.org, and having multiple places to send logs helps them generate stats more reliably.

“Fastly’s streaming logs have been extremely useful — we use them to aggregate project usage statistics on Drupal.org and to keep track of how many sites have a Drupal module or theme activated.” Rudy Grigar, Infrastructure Manager