• Überblick

  • Lieblingsfunktionen

    • Instant Purge
    • Individuelles VCL
    • Surrogate Keys
  • Warum Fastly

    • Flexibilität
    • Für Entwickler gemacht
    • Transparenz
Sonatype Screenshot
Sonatype Icons

Warum Fastly

Die Lösungen von Sonatype sind eine kritische Infrastruktur, die Entwickler täglich nutzen. Mit Fastly kann Sonatype den mehr als 10 Millionen Nutzern weltweit ein zuverlässiges und sicheres Erlebnis bieten. Gleichzeitig kann das Unternehmen seine Infrastruktur weiter skalieren. Auf diese Weise konnte Sonatype seine monatlichen Releases mehr als verdoppeln, die Bandbreite verdreifachen und den gesamten Anfrage-Traffic vervierfachen.

„Fastly ermöglicht uns, in die Tiefen unseres CDN vorzudringen. Wir können Dinge schnell so konfigurieren, wie wir sie brauchen. Bei anderen Anbietern war die Konfiguration völlig undurchsichtig: Wir mussten uns an den Kundensupport wenden, um Regeln ändern zu lassen. Das ist ziemlich umständlich und nicht sehr effektiv. Fastly hat seine eigene API und bietet uns ultimative Flexibilität.” Jason Swank , Technical Operations Lead

„Ich sollte auf Holz klopfen, aber in den mehr als drei Jahren, in denen wir mit Fastly zusammenarbeiten, konnten wir einer riesigen globalen Nutzerbasis eine Verfügbarkeit von 100 % bieten – und das bei einer außergewöhnlichen Netzwerk-Performance. Kurz gesagt, es funktioniert einfach alles einwandfrei.“ Mike Hansen , SVP Product Development and Engineering

Unterstützung beim Wachstum

Das exponentielle Wachstum sowohl bei der Produktion als auch bei der Nutzung von Open-Source-Software hat zu entsprechendem Skalierungsbedarf bei der Netzwerkbereitstellung und zu Verfügbarkeitsanforderungen geführt, die von kritischen Infrastrukturkomponenten weltweit diktiert werden. Fastly bietet Sonatype die Möglichkeit, Millionen von Open-Source-Komponenten zu cachen, und gleichzeitig die Flexibilität, Inhalte sofort zu aktualisieren, sodass diese Komponenten stets verfügbar sind. Das Ergebnis: Sonatype kann mit dem enormen und schnellen Wachstum, das Jahr für Jahr anhält, ohne Weiteres mithalten.

„Mit Fastlys Service gab es bislang keinerlei Probleme. Die Download-Anfragen aus dem Central Repository haben sich verdreifacht und der Anfrage-Traffic ist um das Vierfache gestiegen – und das alles ohne Beeinträchtigungen. Ohne Fastly hätten wir das nicht so leicht gemeistert.“ Jason Swank , Technical Operations Lead

100 %ige Verfügbarkeit

Maven Central ist ein kostenloser Service. Für Sonatype ist es daher manchmal schwierig, Feedback von Nutzern zu bekommen. Entwickler sehen den Service als ein Dienstprogramm, aber anhaltende Zuverlässigkeit ist wichtig, damit Nutzer nicht abwandern.

„Fastly hilft uns, Entwicklern einen extrem zuverlässigen Service zu bieten. Für einen kostenlosen Service wie unseren ist es einfach großartig, dass wir die Erwartung erfüllen, zu 100 % verfügbar zu sein.“ Mike Hansen , SVP Product Development and Engineering

Varnish: Transparent und Open Source

Sonatype entschied sich unter anderem für Fastly, weil es auf dem Open Source Web Accelerator Varnish basiert. Zu den Vorteilen einer Open-Source-Lösung gehören eine sachkundige Community und umfangreiche Dokumentation.

„Ein großer Vorteil von Varnish ist, dass wir unsere eigenen Instanzen laufen lassen können. So können wir Dinge ganz einfach testen. Bei unserem vorherigen Anbieter mussten wir darauf warten, dass er Regeländerungen für uns vornimmt. Das machte die Arbeit mit dem Feedback-Zyklus ziemlich mühsam.“ Jason Swank , Technical Operations Lead

Sonatype Screenshot 2

Problemdiagnose in Echtzeit

Da Maven Central von Entwicklern auf der ganzen Welt genutzt wird, benötigt Sonatype Informationen über den Zustand seiner Website, um erfolgreiche Builds sicherzustellen. Beim vorherigen CDN des Unternehmens war dies schwierig, da es keine Einblicke in die Umgebung bot. Fastly bietet Echtzeit-Analysen, die Sonatype Einblicke in Ereignisse liefern, während sie auftreten. So kann Sonatype Sicherheitsprobleme schnell erkennen und beheben. Sonatype streamt Protokolle zu S3-Endgeräten, um Informationen zu sammeln und bei Bedarf Änderungen vorzunehmen.

„Die Möglichkeit, Probleme sofort zu überwachen und zu diagnostizieren, war ein wichtiges Verkaufsargument für Fastly. Jetzt haben wir Livestreams von Syslog-Daten und können Probleme sofort beheben, wenn sie auftreten. Dies ist besonders bei Sicherheitsproblemen von Vorteil. Durch die Zusammenstellung von Informationen aus Streaming Logs können wir sowohl die Beliebtheit als auch die Schwachstellen bestimmter Komponenten ermitteln. Wenn es eine Schwachstelle gibt, können wir sie leicht identifizieren und korrigieren.“ Jason Swank , Technical Operations Lead

Log Streaming in Echtzeit ist auch für die kommerziellen Produkte von Sonatype wichtig, zum Beispiel für die Abwehr von Sicherheits- oder Lizenzverletzungen und für Informationen zur Beliebtheit.

„Unsere Datenverarbeitungsinfrastruktur für unsere kommerziellen Produkte ist ziemlich umfangreich. Fastly hilft uns bei der Optimierung unserer kundenorientierten Prozesse.“ Jason Swank , Technical Operations Lead

Sign Up

sonatypelogo

Overview

Industry: Software

Location: Fulton, MD

Customer since: July 2013

Favorite Features

Instant Purge
Custom VCL
Surrogate keys

Why Fastly

Flexibility
Cater to Developers
Visibility

About Sonatype

Sonatype is the leader in software supply chain automation, with a long history of significant contributions to the open source community. Major contributors to the Apache Maven project and distributors of the open source Nexus Repository Manager, Sonatype also operates the largest repository (known as Central or Maven Central) for Java software components — analogous to npm for JavaScript, RubyGems for Ruby, PyPI for Python, etc. This repository is where open source software developers publish libraries and modules, and where developers expect to retrieve them in order to build applications. Sonatype served over 30 billion requests for such components in 2015, and continues to add thousands of new or updated components daily.

case study sonatype 1

Why Fastly

Sonatype’s solutions are critical infrastructure that developers use every day. Fastly helps provide a reliable, secure experience for Sonatype’s more than 10 million users worldwide as they continue to scale, more than doubling total monthly releases, tripling bandwidth and quadrupling total request traffic.

“Fastly allows us to get into the guts of our CDN; we can quickly configure things the way we need to configure them. With other providers, configuration was totally opaque — we’d have to go through customer support to get rules changed, and that’s pretty unwieldy and not very effective. Fastly has its own API, giving us ultimate flexibility.” — Jason Swank, Technical Operations Lead

“Knock on wood, but in the more than three years we have leveraged Fastly, we’ve delivered a huge global user base 100% uptime, coincident with exceptional network performance. In short, it just works… really, really well.” — Mike Hansen, SVP Product Development and Engineering

case study sonatype 3

Support during growth

The exploding growth in both the production and usage of open source software has led to corresponding scale requirements in network delivery and the availability requirements dictated by part of the world’s critical development infrastructure. Fastly gives Sonatype the ability to cache millions of open source components while offering the flexibility to update content instantly, ensuring those components are always available. As a result, they’ve been able to readily support the enormous and rapid growth that continues year after year.

“We’ve had zero issues with Fastly’s service. Download requests from the Central Repository have increased by 3x and request traffic by 4x, all without skipping a beat. Fastly has helped us get there.” — Jason Swank, Technical Operations Lead

100% Uptime

Maven Central is a free service, sometimes making it difficult for Sonatype to gather user feedback. Developers see the service as a utility, but maintaining reliability is key to ensuring that users don’t go elsewhere.

“Fastly helps us provide extremely reliable service for developers. Being able to readily meet the expectations of 100% uptime for a free service is just awesome.” — Mike Hansen, SVP Product Development and Engineering

Varnish : Transparent & open source

One of the reasons Sonatype chose Fastly is because it’s built on Varnish, the open source web accelerator. This offers the benefits of open source, which includes an extensive, knowledgeable community and documentation.

“One big benefit to using Varnish is it allows us to run our own instances, letting us test things out very easily. With our previous provider, we had to wait for an engineer to make rules changes for us, so it was painful dealing with that feedback cycle.” — Jason Swank, Technical Operations Lead

DIAGNOSING PROBLEMS IN REAL TIME

Because Maven Central is used by developers around the world, it’s critical that Sonatype can look into their site health to ensure successful builds. This was challenging with their previous CDN, which didn’t offer visibility into their environment. Fastly offers real-time analytics that give Sonatype insight into events as they occur, allowing them to identify and fix security issues quickly. Sonatype streams logs to S3 endpoints to gather information and make changes as necessary.

“Being able to monitor and diagnose problems instantly was a huge selling point for Fastly. Now we can stream live syslog data, addressing problems as they happen. This is especially beneficial for security issues; by gathering together information gleaned from streaming logs, we can determine both the popularity and vulnerability of certain components. If there is a vulnerability, we can easily identify and fix it.” — Jason Swank, Technical Operations Lead

Real-time log streaming is also key to Sonatype’s commercial products, which include security mitigation, license mitigations, and popularity information.

“We have a pretty significant infrastructure around crunching data for our commercial products, and Fastly helps us streamline this process en route to our customers.” — Jason Swank, Technical Operations Lead

case study sonatype 2