wikiHow

wikiHow ist eine vertrauenswürdige Wissensquelle für über 150 Millionen monatliche Besucher aus 230 Ländern. Hier erfahren Sie, wie Fastlys Edge-Cloud-Plattform wikiHow dabei hilft, die steigenden Erwartungen der Nutzer mit in Echtzeit bereitgestellten, aktuellen Artikeln zu erfüllen.

www.wikihow.com
Branche: Medien
Standort: Palo Alto, CA
Kunde seit: August 2012

Lieblingsfunktionen
Inhaltsbereitstellung
DDoS-Abwehr
Echtzeit-Logs
Abschirmung

Antworten für über 150 Millionen Nutzer

Over 150 million monthly visitors — spanning 230 countries — rely on wikiHow for learning new skills, whether it’s an emergency (at least four babies have been born with the help of a wikiHow article) or how to make a chocolate souffle, making it even more critical that they offer consistent, secure, and reliable experiences for their readers. As a wiki, their content is constantly changing, much more so than the average online destination — articles are being edited in real time, and wikiHow needs to reflect the most-up-to-date content without incurring a performance lag. They turned to Fastly’s edge cloud network to help them offer readers critical answers in real time, and for a CDN that enables them to cache and update constantly changing wiki articles.

“Performance ist für uns von größter Bedeutung – unsere Nutzer erwarten, dass Seiten sehr schnell geladen werden. Die hochwertige und zuverlässige Edge\-Cloud\-Plattform von Fastly verschafft uns diesen Wettbewerbsvorteil.”
Elizabeth Douglas
CEO
WikiHow Infografik 1

Wenn Artikel viral gehen

Am 7. Mai 2014 ging ein wikiHow-Artikel zum Thema „wie man eine Hochzeit verhindert“ plötzlich viral (unter anderem aufgrund einer Wiederveröffentlichung des Artikels bei Slate). Der Traffic zum Artikel stieg um das 1540-Fache. Da wikiHow den Artikel mit dem CDN von Fastly im Cache hatte, konnte die hervorragende Performance und die Seitenladegeschwindigkeit beim plötzlichen Anstieg der Nutzerzahlen problemlos aufrechterhalten werden. Elizabeth Douglas bestätigt: „Mit Fastly ist es kein Problem für uns, wenn ein Artikel viral geht.“

WikiHow Infografik 2

Performance, wann (und wo) sie am dringendsten gebraucht wird

Die Leser erwarten nicht nur die aktuellsten Informationen, sondern auch, dass Seiten sofort geladen werden. Finden sie ihre dringend benötigten Informationen nicht schnell genug, wechseln sie zu anderen Websites. Mit Fastly kann das wikiHow Team seiner Community die neuesten Artikel in Echtzeit zur Verfügung stellen und so seine Position als sichere und zuverlässige Informationsquelle weiter ausbauen. Mit Fastlys Origin Shield wird ein einzelner Point of Presence (POP) als Abschirmungspunkt für die Origin-Server von wikiHow bestimmt. So bleiben die Inhalte für Nutzer leichter zugänglich. Wenn ein Artikel an einem bestimmten POP nicht verfügbar ist, werden Anfragen an den Abschirmungs-POP weitergeleitet. So werden keine weiteren kostspieligen Anfragen an die Origin-Server von wikiHow gerichtet und die Performance bleibt unbeeinträchtigt.

“Fastly stellt schnelle Seitenladezeiten und die Aktualität der Artikel sicher und hilft so unseren Nutzern, alle Aufgaben, die sie bewältigen möchten, auch zu schaffen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Lösungen gibt uns das CDN von Fastly die Flexibilität, unsere Artikel immer aktuell und verfügbar zu haben.” Elizabeth Douglas CEO
WikiHow Infografik

Leser nehmen ihr Mobilgerät zur Hand, wenn sie spontan nach Antworten suchen, und wollen diese sofort erhalten. 53 % der Nutzer von Mobilgeräten verlassen eine Website, wenn sie nicht innerhalb von 3 Sekunden geladen wird. Mehr als die Hälfte der wikiHow Leser greifen über Mobilgeräte auf Artikel zu. Relevante Antworten in Echtzeit zu liefern, ist daher geschäftsentscheidend. Elizabeth Douglas bestätigt: „Mit Fastly kann wikiHow seinen Lesern auf mobilen Endgeräten das gleiche schnelle und zuverlässige Erlebnis bieten, das sie vom Desktop gewohnt sind.“

Einblicke in Echtzeit

wikiHow verlässt sich auf die Echtzeit-Logs von Fastly, um detaillierte Einblicke in den Traffic zu erhalten, zum Beispiel in die von Nutzern ausgeführten Aktionen. So kann wikiHow, das Nutzerverhalten analysieren und die Performance optimieren. Da Logs mit Fastly an einen beliebigen Endpoint gestreamt werden können, kann wikiHow die Überwachung individuell anpassen. Eine eigene Infrastruktur ist dafür nicht erforderlich.

Über wikiHow

wikiHow ist eine Online-Community im Stil eines Wikis, die aus einer umfangreichen Datenbank mit Anleitungen besteht. Die 2005 vom Internetunternehmer Jack Herrick gegründete Website hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die hilfreichsten Anleitungen der Welt für alle möglichen Tätigkeiten bereitzustellen. Schritt-für-Schritt-Artikel vermitteln Menschen neue Fertigkeiten, zum Beispiel, wie man ein Ei kocht, fit bleibt oder ein iPhone repariert. wikiHow gibt es in 17 Sprachen (weitere sind derzeit in Arbeit) und wurde in 42 Ländern als kostenloser Basic-Service klassifiziert. Comscore zählt wikiHow zu den 150 meistbesuchten Publishern der Welt.

Über Fastly

Fastly unterstützt die beliebtesten digitalen Unternehmen der Welt bei der Bereitstellung schneller, sicherer und skalierbarer Onlineerlebnisse, um steigende Kundenerwartungen zu erfüllen. Unternehmen vertrauen auf Fastly um technische Innovationen zu beschleunigen, potenzielle Bedrohungen abzuwehren und ihre Infrastruktur je nach Bedarf zu skalieren. Fastly wurde 2011 gegründet und unterstützt die Onlinepräsenz von Unternehmen wie Airbnb, GitHub, Alaska Airlines, Pinterest, Vimeo, The Guardian, The New York Times und Ticketmaster. Erfahren Sie mehr unter Fastly.com/de und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter @fastly.

You appear to be offline. Some site functionality may not work.
Sign Up

WikiHow

wikiHow is a trusted knowledge resource for over 150 million monthly visitors spanning 230 countries. Here’s how Fastly’s edge cloud platform helps them meet growing user expectations by providing the most up-to-date articles in real time.

www.wikihow.com
Industry: Media
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Customer since: August 2012

Favorite features
Content delivery
DDoS mitigation
Real-time logging
Shielding

Answers for 150 million+

Over 150 million monthly visitors — spanning 230 countries — rely on wikiHow for learning new skills, whether it’s an emergency (at least four babies have been born with the help of a wikiHow article) or how to make a chocolate souffle, making it even more critical that they offer consistent, secure, and reliable experiences for their readers. As a wiki, their content is constantly changing, much more so than the average online destination — articles are being edited in real time, and wikiHow needs to reflect the most-up-to-date content without incurring a performance lag. They turned to Fastly’s edge cloud platform to help them offer readers critical answers in real time, and for a CDN that enables them to cache and update constantly changing wiki articles.

“Performance is of utmost importance to us — our users expect pages to load really quickly. Fastly’s premium and dependable edge cloud platform gives us that competitive edge.” Elizabeth Douglas
CEO
WikiHow Infographic 1

Going viral

On May 7, 2014, a wikiHow article on how to stop a wedding suddenly went viral (due in part to a republished piece in Slate). The traffic to the article jumped an astonishing 1540x above normal; because wikiHow was caching the article with Fastly’s CDN, they were able to easily maintain peak performance and page speeds for the sudden increase in users reading the article. As Douglas notes, “With Fastly, we can easily weather an article going viral.”

WikiHow Infographic 2

Performance when (and where) it matters most

Not only do readers expect the most up-to-date information, but they expect pages to load instantly — if they don’t find their much-needed info quickly, they’ll go elsewhere. With Fastly, the wikiHow team can provide their community with the latest informative articles in real time, further strengthening their position as a reliable and dependable resource. Using Fastly’s shielding feature, which lets them designate a single point of presence (POP) as a shield for their origins, wikiHow can ensure content is readily accessible for their users. If an article isn’t available at a certain POP, requests will go to the shield POP as opposed to returning to wikiHow’s origins, which can be costly and cause performance to suffer.

“By ensuring fast page loads and the most-up-to-date articles, Fastly helps our users feel confident completing whatever tasks they’re trying to accomplish. Unlike other solutions, Fastly’s CDN gives us the flexibility to always have our articles up to date and available.” Elizabeth Douglas CEO
WikiHow Infographic

Readers turn to their mobile devices when seeking answers on the fly, but they don’t want to wait: 53% of mobile users will abandon a site if it doesn’t load in 3 seconds. With more than half of wikiHow’s readers accessing articles via mobile devices, it’s even more critical that they serve relevant answers in real time. According to Douglas, “Fastly empowers wikiHow to offer mobile readers the same fast and reliable experiences they’ve come to expect with desktop.”

Real-time insights

wikiHow relies on Fastly’s real-time logging to give them in-depth insight into their traffic, such as actions users take on a page, enabling them to dig into user behavior and fine-tune performance. Because Fastly enables them to stream logs to any endpoint of their choosing, wikiHow can customize their monitoring without having to build their own infrastructure.

About wikiHow

wikiHow is an online wiki-style community consisting of an extensive database of how-to guides. Founded in 2005 by internet entrepreneur Jack Herrick, the website aims to create the world’s most helpful how-to instructions to enable everyone in the world to learn how to do anything. wikiHow’s mission is to teach everyone in the world how to do anything, with step-by-step articles teach people on anything from boiling an egg to learning a new skill, learning about fitness or fixing their iPhones. Available in 17 languages (with more in the works), they’ve been classified as a basic free service in 42 countries, and Comscore ranks wikiHow in the top 150 most-visited publishers in the world.

About Fastly

Fastly helps the world’s most popular digital businesses keep pace with their customer expectations by delivering fast, secure, and scalable online experiences. Businesses trust Fastly’s edge cloud platform to accelerate the pace of technical innovation, mitigate evolving threats, and scale on demand. Founded in 2011, Fastly powers online destinations including Airbnb, GitHub, Alaska Airlines, Pinterest, Vimeo, The Guardian, The New York Times, and Ticketmaster. Learn more at Fastly.com and follow us on Twitter @fastly.